With the filing date ending at 5 p.m. Friday, both the city and school elections will feature contested races.

City of Breckenridge
Election Day for the City of Breckenridge offices will be Saturday, May 10.
The places up for election are Mayor, City Commission - Place 1 and Place 2.
These positions are currently filled by Jim McKay, Mayor; Kody Knight, Place 1; and Sherry Strickland, Place 2.
McKay filed for re-election to the Mayor's seat, while Dennis Thompson also filed to run for the mayor's position.
Strickland filed for re-election to Place No. 2 and Kent Thompson has filed to run for Place No. 1.
As of press time Friday, Knight did not file to run for re-election.

Breckenridge ISD
Trustee Election
The Breckenridge Independent School District Trustee Election will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, May 10, for the following places on the Breckenridge Independent School District Board of Trustees:
• Place 6, currently held by Jeff Dooley;
• Place 7, currently held by Skip Griffith.
Dooley has filed for re-election, while Paige Townson and Mike Herrington have each filed to run for Place No. 7. As of press time, Griffith did not file to run for re-election.