When voters hit the polls for early voting on Tuesday, Feb. 18, there will be lots of changes and attention to detail.

Voter Identification
Tax Assessor-Collector Christy Latham stressed that voters will need to bring an approved form of identification to vote in the March 4 primary election.
According to the website, acceptable forms of identification include:
• Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS);
• Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS;
• Texas personal identification card issued by DPS;
• Texas concealed handgun license issued by DPS;
• United States military identification card containing the person's photograph;
• United States citizenship certificate containing the person's photograph or
• United States passport.
Early voting will start Tuesday, Feb. 18 and run through Friday, Feb. 28. Early voting hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Stephens County Courthouse.
The primary election will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, March 4, at selected polling places.

Polling Places
Polling Places are as follows:
• Precinct No. 1 — First National Bank Tower Room, 101 E. Walker;
• Precinct No. 2 — First Presbyterian Church Fellowship Hall, 1601 W. Elliott;
• Precinct No. 3 — Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce — 100 E. Elm;
• Precinct No. 4 — Breckenridge ISD Support Center (Bus Barn), 907 U.S. Hwy 183 North; and
• Precinct No. 5 — Wayland Volunteer Fire Department Building, 10276 FM 1852.


The notable change is the Precinct No. 2 polling place, which was formerly the Breckenridge InterBank Gold Room.
Latham also wanted voters to know a few procedures that voters will need to understand when they hit the polls for early voting.
“When you vote in the primary election, you will have to choose whether you want a Democratic ballot or a Republican ballot,” she said. “It's not making the voter choose to be a member of a certain party. It's giving the voter an option on voting for the candidates they want.”
In the Stephens County races, the only contested races will be on the Republican ticket.

Stephens County Judge
Incumbent Stephens County Judge Gary L. Fuller will be up against Wayne White in the primary election.

Precinct No. 4 Commissioner
Rickie R. Carr, the incumbent County Commissioner of Precinct No. 4, will draw a pair of opponents in the primary election. Jim Blancq and Jack “Trey” Robertson will also vie for the position.

Justice of the Peace-Stephens County
The race will feature incumbent Justice of the Peace Mike Heatley drawing Michael Roach in the March primary.
Runoff elections will take place on May 27. Latham said voters will only be able to vote in the same party in the runoff election.
For example, if a voter chose a Republican ballot in the March 4 primary, he/she may only be able to vote Republican if a runoff election is held on May 27.
“It will not affect how a voter will vote in the November general election,” Latham said.
For more information on voting, contact Latham at the Stephens County Tax Assessor-Collector office at 254-559-6513 of 559-2732.