A special election has been set for Tuesday, Sept. 9, to fill the Texas State Senate District 28 seat, recently vacated by Robert Duncan, who resigned to serve as chancellor of the Texas Tech University System.
The early voting period for the election will begin on Monday, Aug. 25.
The list of candidates vying for the vacated seat include Jodey Arrington, Republican; E.M. Garza, Republican; Delwin Jones, Republican; Kerry Douglas McKennon, Libertarian; Charles Perry, Republican; and Greg Wortham, Democrat.
The winner of that special election will serve the remainder of Senator Duncan's term, which expires in 2017, beginning on Jan. 13.
Texas Senate District 28 encompasses 51 West Texas counties, including Stephens County.
The district stretches from the Rolling Plains of the Panhandle to the South Plains of Lubbock and the Concho River in San Angelo.
Early voting will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday, Aug.. 25 through Friday, Sept. 5, at the Stephens County Courthouse.
There will be no early voting on Monday, Sept. 1, which is the Labor Day holiday.
Voters in the election will need to bring a valid and accepted form of identification.
If voters have their Texas driver's license, the license can not be expired for more than 60 days or they will need to apply for a Texas Voter ID Card.
Ballots by mail and Absentee ballots will be available.
On election day, Sept. 9, voters will head to the polls in their respective precincts, with the exception of Precinct No.


5, which will be combined with Precinct. No. 1.
Voters can check their voter registration card to find out their respective precinct.
For more information on the election, contact Stephens County Tax Assessor-Collector Christie Latham at 254-559-2732.