Several Breckenridge Buckaroo baseball players received District 7-2A All-District honors.

Among those receiving honors were seniors Cruz Martinez and Eli McLane.

Martinez was a First Team All-District infield selection, while McLane earned First Team All-District honors as a utility player.

“I thought both of those guys worked really hard throughout the season,” said Buckaroo head baseball coach Pat Yarbrough. “You hate to single anybody out in a team sport, but they were real deserving of the honors.”

“They provided a level of leadership and we were able to use them as an example of how to do things,” said Yarbrough. “Whether it be batting or fielding, we relied on them to help with the proper mechanics of the game.”

Sophomore Quinton Ellis earned Second Team All-District honors as a utility player.
“I felt like Quinton had a really good season for us,” said Yarbrough. “He came in and pitched for us and was like a machine throwing strikes. Rarely did he ever struggle a whole lot with throwing strikes. He is one of those that we are looking forward to having back next year since he is just a sophomore.”

Receiving Honorable mention All-District  honors were juniors Parker Landon, Jared McLane and Austin Dooley. Sophomore Ethan Wimberly also received honorable mention All-District honors.


“All these guys did a tremendous job for us this year,” said Yarbrough. “They worked extremely hard game in and game out. They are deserving as anybody to get the honors and be recognized.”

Earning Academic All-District honors were freshmen Hunter Petty,  Tanner Garland and Alfredo Arellano.

J. McLane, Ellis, Landon, Dooley and E. McLane also received Academic All-District honors.

“We always stress putting academics first because the fact is, these guys are students first and athletes second,” said Yarbrough. “My hat has always been off to those guys that could maintain that 90 plus average throughout the season especially when you are playing a lot of games and involved in multiple sports during the spring.”

Cisco's Mason Reed was selected as the District 7-2A MVP, while J.D Coffee of Eastland was as the Offensive MVP, Tyler Smith of Merkel was selected as the Defensive MVP and Chris Howard of Eastland was selected as the pitcher of the year.

Other top award winners in the district went to Gabe Hewitt of Hawley and John Park of Clyde.

Hewitt and Park were both selected as the Newcomers of the Year.
Todd Hatton of Eastland and Mark Adams of Cisco were selected as the District 7-2A Coaches of the Year.