• Article Image Alt Text

Filing begins for March state election primary

Election filing deadline set for Monday, Dec. 13

Candidate filing for the Texas 2022 March Primary Elections opened Saturday, Nov. 13 across the state. Candidates can file with their party chairs in the county for a place on the March 1, 2022 primary ballot. In Stephens County, several incumbents have announced their intentions to run for re-election.

Local positions up for election in the March Primary Election are Stephens County District Clerk, held by Christie Coapland; Stephens County Clerk, held by Jackie Ensey; Stephens County Judge, held by Michael Roach; Stephens County Treasurer, held by Sharon Trigg; Stephens County Commissioner Precinct 2, held by Mark McCullough; Stephens County Commissioner Precinct 4, held by Eric O’Dell; and Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, held by Steve Spoon. The terms for those currently elected officials end Dec. 31, 2022.

Other offices up for election in 2022 are District 25 U.S. Representative, held by Roger Williams; Texas Governor, held by Greg Abbott; Lieutenant Governor, held by Dan Patrick; Attorney General, held by Ken Paxton; Comptroller of Public Accounts, held by Glenn Hegar; Commissioner of the General Land Office, held by George P. Bush; Commissioner of Agriculture, held by Sid Miller; Railroad Commissioner, held by Wayne Christian; two justices of the Supreme Court, held by Rebeca Huddle and Debra Lehrmann, three judges from the Court of Criminal Appeals, held by Mary Lou Keel, Jesse McClure, and Scott Walker; District 10 Texas Senator, held by Beverly Powell; District 60 Texas Representative, held by Glenn Rogers; Chief Justice of the 11th District Court of Appeals, held by John M. Bailey; one justice of the 11th District Court of Appeals, held by W. Stacy Trotter; and District 15 State Board of Education, held by Jay Johnson.

On Monday, Nov. 15, current Stephens County Judge Michael Roach announced he had filed for re-election, with Stephens County Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 Steve Spoon announcing his bid for re-election the following day. Stephens County Precinct 2 Commissioner Mark McCullough made his announcement for re-election Thursday, Nov. 18 via Facebook post, as well.

For the full story, click here to subscribe or log in to read the Wednesday, Nov. 24 edition of the Breckenridge American.

Breckenridge American

114 East Elm Street

PO Box 871

Breckenridge, Texas 76424

Phone: (254) 559-5412
Fax: (940) 228-0589