Seymore nominated for state-wide honor

Regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award have been announced and Breckenridge ISD Superintendent Tim Seymore is on the list.

Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards, the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.

Regional superintendents of the year nominated by regional selection committees. This year, they are:

Daniel Treviño Jr., Mercedes ISD, Region 1

Max Thompson, Banquete ISD, Region 2

Jeanette Winn, Karnes City ISD, Region 3

Mark Henry, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, Region 4

Mark Porterie, Port Arthur ISD, Region 5

Tim Harkrider, Willis ISD, Region 6

Susan Morton, Winnsboro ISD, Region 7

Michael Lamb, Sulphur Springs ISD, Region 8

David Vroonland, Mesquite ISD, Region 10

Robin Ryan, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD, Region 11

George Kazanas, Midway ISD, McLennan County, Region 12

William Chapman, Jarrell ISD, Region 13

Tim Seymore, Breckenridge ISD, Region 14

Ross Aschenbeck, Sonora ISD, Region 15

Bryan Davis, Dimmitt ISD, Region 16

Kenneth Border, Shallowater ISD, Region 17

Denise Shetter, Kermit ISD, Region 18

Juan Martinez, Clint ISD, Region 19

Brian Woods, Northside ISD, Bexar County, Region 20

Candidates are chosen for strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance and commitment to public involvement in education. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin Aug. 24-25 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced Sept. 28 at the 2018 Texas Association of School Administrators/TASB Convention in Austin.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million students. 

The Breckenridge American


114 East Elm Street

PO Box 871

Breckenridge, Texas 76424

Phone: (254) 559-5412
Fax: (254) 559-3491